Developments in technology are causing environmental problems. Some think the solution is for people to adjust to a simpler life while others believe that technology itself can solve these problems.

While some view technology as the main environmental culprit and advocate simpler lifestyles to solve problems the world’s environment is now facing, others argue that solutions lie in technological innovations. Each point of view has its own justifications, as will now be explained. On the one hand, there are two primary reasons why adopting a simple way of life helps remedy environmental issues. First, since automobiles are currently one of the major sources of air polluting emissions, individuals can switch to simpler transport modes to lower their carbon footprint. In fact, if more people walk or cycle instead of driving their private cars to near destinations, the atmosphere will be saved from staggering volumes of exhaust fume discharged from personal vehicles. Second, people should minimize the use of modern conveniences such as air-conditioning and refrigeration in efforts to safeguard the environment. Because air-conditioners and refrigerators are energy-hungry devices, using them sparingly is a sensible green move. On the other hand, the role of technological development in tackling environmental puzzles must not be underestimated. Some recently-developed technologies have been used to harness various renewables to meet growing energy needs without compromising the surrounding environment. Solar panels, for example, are placed on the roofs of buildings to convert sunlight into clean energy that powers these properties. Furthermore, the latest technological marvels applied in treating waste has facilitated waste disposal which has long been a thorny environmental issue. For example, new waste treatment systems developed by the Japanese have proved to be so effective that treated byproducts of production processes leave a lot less impact on ecosystems. In conclusion, a combination of living more simply and applying green technology will guarantee desirable environmental outcomes. Downplaying the significance of either one of them is definitely a misstep.