Development in technology causes environmental problems. Some people believe the solution to these problems is everyone accepts a simpler way of life, while others say that technology can solve these problems.

People have argued about the negative effect of technology on the environment. A group of people think that rather than following the development of technology, we should have a simpler way of life. However, others disagree as they believe that technology could address environmental issues. On the one hand, it is undeniable that the rapid development of technology has caused some environmental problems.   Many inventions are beneficial for human beings, but they have a catastrophic effect on the environment. For example, the invention of cars that use fossil fuel has caused some serious effect on the world. The cars produce carbon monoxide which is not only dangerous for living creatures, but it also becomes the main cause of global warming. Therefore, some people believe that we should change our lifestyle into a simpler one. One of the ways is by using a friendly environmental transportation such as using a bicycle to commute. The bicycle is not only safe for the environment, but it could also be used as a way of exercise. On the other hand, other people believe that technology could be used as a way to resolve environmental problems. As we can see that one of the biggest threat to the earth’s civilisation is the usage of the plastic bag. The waste of plastic bags has become a big issue, as they could only be composed for about 100 years.   However, with the new technology, scientists have found a new way of producing plastic bags. With the new formula, plastic bags could be recycled; therefore it would resolve one of the environmental issues. In my opinion, I do believe that technology is beneficial for human beings if we used it wisely and proportionately. I personally believe that research for new technology should be continued, as we need to have improvements in life, but the government should review and monitor this research properly.