Developed countries have created many environmental problems in the World, particularly in their contribution to global warming. Why is global warming a problem? What can be done to reduce the dangers of global warming?

The fast-paced development of the western countries led to the occurrence of various environmental issues, such as global warming. This problem poses a hazard for survival of the humanity. Measures should be taken to tackle this trouble urgently. First and foremost, global warming causes various problems. The carbon emissions force the temperature to rise, consequently the ice caps melt. This threats the communities living in the coastal areas, because the rise of sea levels cause flooding. For example, the NASA research predicts that sea levels will increase by 26 centimetres in 2100 and will make more than half of the urban areas located near large bodies of water uninhabitable. Moreover, this would affect a variety of animals, as their natural habitats are disappearing, due to the erosion, rising temperature and other ecological troubles. Already, there has been a number of species that are on the verge of extinction. Secondly, to solve this rising complication the government together with the society should take action. First of all, laws and regulations must be introduced to prevent the carbon footprint expanding and the glaciers melting. Other types of commuting, such as bicycles or scooters, ought to be encouraged. For instance, the expanded biking culture in the Scandinavian countries resulted in carbon gas emissions reducing in half. Furthermore, changes of the infrastructure have to be made. Otherwise, the coastal cities will suffer from the painful consequences. To conclude, the state-of-the-art technologies brought a large number of benefits to humankind, but alongside them brought environmental problems of a large extent. If people do not take action to prevent global warming, they will face severe adversity.