In some cities, there is less control over the design and construction of new homes and office buildings. People can build in whatever style they like. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The uncontrolled construction of the offices and houses in the cities leads to build any building without considering a particular design. Although it is cost-effective, constructing a building without a style cannot stand natural calamities and does not offer long-term benefits. This essay will argue that the drawbacks of this trend will outnumber the advantages. To begin with, the advantage of this approach is cost-effectiveness. It means that people can build their houses and offices according to their financial situation. However, if individuals choose a specific building style, they will have to spend a great deal of money. For example, in 2018, 'The Worldwide Construction Association' found that constructing a building without considering a design cost about 25% less than the styled buildings. Therefore, this construction approach is affordable for most people. However, there are various disadvantages. Firstly, these kinds of buildings are destroyed easily through natural calamities. The reason behind this is that these buildings do not have a suitable style to stand with natural disasters. As a result, there can be wear and tear loss of residents. For instance, according to the research conducted by 'The Natural calamities sciences' revealed that the main reason behind the destruction of buildings during environmental disasters is only because of not occupying an appropriate design. Secondly, This construction method of building houses or offices doesn't offer long-term benefits. These buildings need renovation after some time only because of the usage of cheap material during construction. To exemplify, according to the recent study conducted by 'The Architectural Association' stated that the majority of buildings (say around 97%), which do not have an appropriate design, are unable to remain stable for a long time. Hence, the Offices and houses without a particular style fail to offer long term advantages. In conclusion, the trend of constructing a building without thinking of design is affordable. However, downsides like no long term benefits and incapability of coping with natural disasters outweighed the upsides.