Detailed description of crimes on newspaper and TV can have bad consequences on society, so this kind of information should be banned in the media.

Nowadays, with the rapid development of the social media, people are able to receive the latest news. Nonetheless, this change does not only bring benefits to our community. Detailed depiction of crimes provides some unnecessary information for society. Therefore, we should cut down the coverage of detailed crimes and broadcast other useful information instead. To begin with, it is the unnecessary description of crimes that deprives of the attentions of many other important issues. The news media prefer to report news which might get more views, such as bank robbery or drug smuggle. However, this only causes a negative effect to the society. We should instead cover other issues, which are in dire need of public assistance. For instance, in this year’s mosque attack in New Zealand, many news channels focus on the process of the shooting attack. It would be more helpful to society if they discuss how can people offer help to those victims. Moreover, one of the most criticized part of detailed description of crimes is that it facilitates the growth of crime. It is a common belief that people incline to imitate that they see in the life, not to mention violence crimes on TV. On the other hand, description of crimes on TV and newspaper serves as a good method for government to increase awareness among citizens about the prevention of crime. The idea lies in the fact that, the reason of most victims who are being scammed are due to the unfamiliarity with new means of fraud. If government can make use of news coverage to help people realize how to protect themselves, then it is possible to lower the decrease the crime rate of fraud. It should be also noted that government can teach people not only about protection but also reporting potential crime, such as drug smuggle. Consequently, if description on TV is being use in a positive way, it is the best approach for government to promote effectively. In conclusion, I believe that we should ban those information that report detailed description of crimes on TV, unless they use this opportunity to assist government’s promotion about protection of crime.