Despite the increased access to education, a significant number of people cannot read or write. What are the disadvantages and what action should the government take?

Nowadays, education is ever more accessible, but still, a certain percentage of the population remains illiterate. In this essay, I will discuss the importance of education and how authorities can solve this problem. To begin with, education can not only teach a person how to read and write, but also help with common sense. Those who are illiterate, fail to comprehend the basic knowledge required for day-to-day tasks. For instance, without studying biology, it is difficult to understand the need for cleanliness because the uneducated individual lacks basic knowledge of viruses and bacteria the surround us. Furthermore, most of the businesses are knowledge-based and require employees to learn, understand and grasp quickly, skills that can only be retained through education. Thus, schooling is necessary for survival and to secure a well-paid job. There are a number of ways the government can over-come this challenge. First, governing bodies can offer free classes in evenings and weekends to educate these adults. Secondly, more awareness campaigns, such as on TV and radio, can address the importance of education and encourage interest in schooling. Finally, introducing new teaching methods, for example, computer usage, to make learning fun at a young age can prevent children from stopping school at an early age. These are some of the ways the government can fight illiteracy. In conclusion, I firmly believe that the importance of education is necessary in all aspects of our life. The government should introduce schemes to solve this serious issue facing our society.