Despite greater access to school education, many adults today still cannot read or write? How does this affect them in life? What can the government do to help them?

It is commonly observed that in spite of having ample of educational institutions, a vast majority of young men and women are lacking education. This certainly hampers their growth as they are not eligible for the white-collar jobs. However, this problem can be solved if government can make the primary education compulsory for everyone. To begin with, education is a basic right for human beings because it helps them to achieve their dreams and aspirations by securing highly paid jobs. However, in the modern world, the majority of people living in the rural areas are unable to acquire the basic education due to the absence of schools and universities. As a result, they have to pursue labour jobs to afford the basic necessities such as food, clothing and shelter. Additionally, with the low-income jobs they will not be able to educate their children and will end up struggling below the poverty line. For instance, according to a research conducted by the University of British Columbia, 80% people living in the rural areas are illiterate and are doing construction jobs to run their family. There are a number of steps that can taken by the government to educate every citizen of a country. Firstly, government should make education compulsory for everyone, which means they have to open more schools and universities in the rural areas. By doing so, people living in rural areas will not only be able to improve their living standards, but also can teach education to their kids. Secondly, government should collaborate with a Non-Government Organisations to educate people according to their work schedule. To exemplify, UNICEF, the Non-Government Organisation has started a programme, in which they offer a night school for people working during the day. Moreover, they offer an internship programme to hire their students. To conclude, regardless of considerable access to education, people in the remote areas are still illiterate and working in low paid jobs. Thus, government actions such as opening schools in remote areas and making education compulsory for everyone can help us to make people literate.