Despite greater access to school education, many adults today still cannot read or write. How does this affect them in life? What can government do to help them?

Illiteracy is one of the biggest problems, faced by the society. Inspite of having an increasing number of primary and secondary schools, many men and women continue to remain illiterate. The primary effect of this is they are helpless to live in poor conditions due to lack of proper job. However, this issue cab ne resolved by timely intervention by the government which can provide free basic education to everyone. It is a known fact that to get a well paid white collar job, an individual should be highly qualified which is not the case in many adults. Due to lack of education and proper knowledge they are hired to work as a labour mainly at a construction site and are paid extremely minimal wages. Due to this they continue to remain below poverty line and are unable to carve out a better life for themselves or their family. For example, India, being one of the fastest growing economies in the world has one of the highest numbers of illiterate young population. However, the government can help them by providing free basic education. The government of any country, being the highest decision making authority, can help by making basic education compulsory for all. In other words, with such law the problem will be addressed at grass root level wherein everyone will at least know basics of reading and writing which can help them in future. This could be done by setting up new schools in every village and districts of the country. Also, the government can collaborate with NGOs wherein these NGOs can conduct classes for such men and women and educate them about basic reading and writing which will eventually help them to progress in life. For instance, there was a recent news article on an NGO – Hope which conducts night class for labourers and provides them basis education and this in turn is helping the workers immensely. In conclusion, inspite of improving primary education resources the number of uneducated youth continues to remain high and as a result of this they continue to live in poverty. The onus is on the government to provide proper access for education to everyone thereby improving the living standards.