Describe an advertisement that you have seen recently. Please say: What was the product in the advertisement? What was the importance of the advertisement to you? What did you like about it the most?

Due to the technological advances in communication platforms and convenience of transportation around the world, people nowadays find it easy to work in foreign countries or as offshore employees. In my opinion, this trend has brought more drawbacks to individuals and countries than its benefits. This essay will discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of such development before reaching a conclusion. On the one hand, fast means of transportation such as airplanes allowed people to travel easily and freely, and hence accept jobs in locations that would not be an option for them in normal situations. Some developing countries, such as Libya and Venezuela, import oil experts to help them discover and explore new oil and gas opportunities. If it had not been for the current advances in transportations, it would have been difficult to have these experts on a regular basis. Another advantage is that the current revolution in communication methods, such as video calls and faster Internet speeds, helped in creating a new market for imported jobs. For instance, India nowadays is exporting its services in call center -offshore over the phone customer service- to a number of multinational companies because of their efficiency and lower cost. Therefore, it can be understood why some people consider this as a positive development. On the other hand, despite the advantages mentioned above, this trend has caused a lot of serious consequences. Firstly, due to the total dependence on foreign employees in some fields, local citizens find themselves stuck in specific roles in certain industries without having the opportunity to step up and occupy a leading role in such fields. Egypt, for example, relies on foreign companies to dig huge tunnels without passing the know-how of such industry to its local engineers. In addition to that, some countries now suffer from a shortage of local employees to cover certain jobs such as customer service agents, and Canada is a prime example of this, due to their total dependence on offshore hiring for such occupations. Thus, it is clear to me that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages of this development. In conclusion, faster communications and transportation means allowed more people to travel easily and work freely, and new opportunities to be created. However, in my opinion, the negative impacts due to such a trend, in terms of excluding local citizens in certain jobs and market shortage in others, far outweigh the positives.