Describe a festival that is important in your country. You should say: When the festival occurs What you did during it What you like or dislike about it And explain why this festival is important

With various learning methods existed in the educational system, opinion has been divided on whether collaborative learning improves the effectiveness for students more than individual learning or not. While there are some valid arguments for the virtues of studying as a group, I still believe that students studying individually will likely gain many further benefits. Advocates of collaborative learning usually claim that it has many huge advantages in the learning system. The first to mention is that studying as a group helps students possess various interpersonal skills such as presentation skill or critical thinking through the process of discussing with their peers. For example, one student can instruct her friends to correct the mistakes in their assignments by presenting the lesson and simultaneously learn from the others’ ways of thinking, thereby better understanding the topic in a fresh way. Moreover, the class sizes are usually too large so that the teachers will probably devote less time and attention to each student; therefore, collaborative learning may become an efficient method for students to understand the lectures more comprehensively. Despite the preceding arguments, I support the view that individual learning has a more crucial role to play in the education program. Firstly, students may barely be distracted from the external environment as they could highly focus on the study sessions, while collaborative studying may lead to a chat with friends. Besides, self-study encourages students to brainstorm the problems instead of waiting for the answers from their peers. Finally, every student has different study strategies in learning; as a result, studying alone allows them to have the most suitable environment and methods of studying in order to get top marks for academic performance. In conclusion, learning as a group certainly has its advantageous aspects, but I am of the opinion that the benefits of individual learning outweigh those of the collaborative studying in improving effectiveness in education.