Some people like doing work by hand. Others prefer using machines. Which do you prefer? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people would argue that expanding the period of imprisonment is the most effective method to deter criminals, while others believe that reducing crime rate has alternative options. I agree with this as providing training and education for prisoners can reduce the rate of crime effectively. A better alternative way of reducing crime is by providing staff training and education. Most of the root cause of committing crime is a financial problem. This means that people are easy to be unemployment because of lacking professional skills and without any diploma. Hence, they have to commit a crime to survive. To illustrate this, a long-term national program in Welsh in 2015 showed that less than 5% of people, who has skill training and education, has had a record of committing a crime. Therefore, I agree entirely that reducing crime can utilize alternative way. It is widely believed that light punishment is regarded as to be soft on crime. One for this reason is that most people consider a severe punishment as the best way to deter crimes. In fact, there does not have a direct connection between the level of punishment and the criminal estimate. For instance, the United States still has the highest crime rate even they have the highest incarceration rate and harsh sentencing in the world. Besides, two-thirds of released prisoners are rearrested with three years. In conclusion, although views might differ on the issue of how to reduce the crime rate, I agree that there is a better option to lower the number of offenders by providing professional training and education.