Describe a custom from your country that you would like people from other countries to adopt Explain your choice using specific reasons and examples

Every nation in this world is different from others in terms of culture, religions, languages and custom traditions. Every citizen takes pride in the traditional cultural values and customs of his or her native country; this feeling is further accentuated when an individual migrates to a foreign land. Once on a holiday vaccation to Australia, I was able to distinguish the vast dissimilarities in the customs of Australian culture and Indian culture( which is my native place). One custom from India which I would like people from other countries to adopt is the tradition of living in joint familes. In India people prefer to live in joint families where all the children, grandchildern, and parents live with peace and harmony under one roof. In other countries, on the other hand, culture of nuclear familes is more prevalent. Living together with fellow relatives strengthens the personal bond among family members and there is greater peace and affection among people. This also results in less number of conflicts and disputes among family members and even if a few of them do occur, there are other senior family members to help in amicably resolving those issues. On the other side in nuclear familes, people are hardly connected with their fellow relatives and there are huge differences, disputes like property, land, money etc. among family members. Also most of the time in nuclear familes, people are no longer under the tutelage of their parents who can help them in maintaining accord and unity among family members like in joint familes. Also, in joint familes people come together at the time of emergency and are readily available to help their fellow relative who is in the state of despair. For example, once in my family, my cousin sister had an road accident. The emergency operation immediately demanded a deposit of Rupees two lakh in the hospital. My uncle, who has a nominal income, was unable to arrange for this huge sum of money in such a short of time. At that moment, all family members united together and individually contributed Rupees 10, 000 for the operation and hence with the coherent effort of all the family members and my uncle, the desired amount was arranged and finally operation was conducted sucessfully. Similarly in other emergency or problems like financial problems, moral and society issues etc. members of the joint family gives an individual the strength and courage needed to fight that situationand also help as far as suitable and possible. To conclude, I would like advocate the Indian culture of living together in joint familes in the foreign countries as family members live together happily with unity under one roof. Also joint familes are more happy and united at the time of hardships, which helps us to fight those situations and emrge out as winners.