Damage to the environment is an inevitable consequence of worldwide improvements in the standard of living.

Many people believe that as the human standard of living gets better, it will have a negative effect on the environment. To a certain point, I would agree with the statement, but it really depends on the method that we choose to improve our lifestyle. It is a fact that some people choose to focus on improving the standard of living without any concern of their surrounding environment. As a consequence, many natural areas have been damaged and caused the extinction of some species. Moreover, cars, refrigerators, air-conditioners, room-heathers etc have improved the way we live our life on one hand and also caused environmental degradation on the other hand. Industrialisation, factories, large offices, luxury apartments, air travel etc are all part of our improved lifestyle but yet they have many negative consequences to our environment. On the other hand, the public could not generalise a statement that says "the improvement of the living standard will have a negative effect on the environment". It really depends on how the government of each country handle it, as some countries are proven that they could manage both aspects simultaneously. For instance, Canada is known as one of the advanced countries in the world, whereas the living standard of its people is better than many other countries. And the government keep on developing methods, policies and procedures to improve the people's living standard. However, Canada is also known as one of the greenest countries in the world, as the government is also concern about preserving the originality and biodiversity of its nature. In conclusion, to a certain extent, I would agree that the improvement of the living standard has affected negatively to the environment. But it happens in some countries, whereas the governments have weak and unmeasured regulations. There are some countries who could manage between improving the living standard and maintaining the environment, and their way of governing should be reviewed and followed by other countries to make the world a better place.