Some people opine that damage to the environment is an inevitable consequence of the improvement in the standard of living.

The improvement of people's living standard owes too much to the rapid development of science and technology. However, people nowadays are confronted with so many problems, such as the deterioration of the environment, air pollution and the explosive expansion of population. Some people claim that the damage to the environment is an inevitable consequence of economic development. From my point of view, this is only an excuse for the ignorance of environmental protection. In order to make more profit, some manufacturers and factories are only keen on the pursuit of profits, caring nothing about the protection of the environment and the recycling of waste water. For example, about fifty percent of people in Shenzhen possess a private car, and the ownership is increasing by 7, 000 each month. The exhaust gas and irritating noise impair people's health greatly. The prosperity of economy is obtained at the cost of people's health and the damage to the environment. The lack of awareness of environmental protection is another factor causing harms to the environment. Some near-sighted local governments are only concerned about economic development but pay very little attention to environmental protection, misunderstanding the economic development says for their achievements and that environmental protection only cost money. If people and the authorities concerned have a long-term developing perspective, I think the damages to the environment is avoidable. Along with the development of technology and people's living standard, the government should take effective measures to handle the problems arising. Meanwhile, the manufacturers and factory owners should consider not only economic profit but also social benefits. If the government and people can join hands in solving the environmental problems, we will enjoy an azure sky and flower fragrance in the near future.