Cycling is heathier and environmentally friendly form of transport. Nevertheless, cycling is getting less popular. What are the reasons of this trend? What can be done to make cycling more popular?

Nowadays, cycling is less and less common although it helps us to keep in shape and is good for the environment. There are some reasons explain why it becomes so unpopular and solutions to increase cycling use. First and foremost, humans are lazier in today’s life. Therefore, they do not choose cycling which needs lots of physical strength to move. People today are affected by fast food, health problems and sitting a lot, so they are sedentary and mind riding bicycles. Second, a bicycle is not as convenient as other transportation, such as a car, bus or plane, because they have a great number of modern facilities inside them. For instance, cars protect us from bad weather, have the air-conditioners to keep us cool while bikes do not. Notwithstanding, we can make cycling more popular again to help the residents to be healthier and protect the environment. First, lowering the price of bicycles is a good solution. Currently, there are some shops are selling bicycles that people have to pay as much as pay for motorbikes. Consequently, the government should encourage the sellers to make them cheaper, so that the number of people buys and use the bicycles will raise. Another decision that needs considering is organizing a monthly cycling competition for the public. Whatever the competition is, it always attracts a lot of people, so there is possible that many people will join the race. Hence, if we keep doing that, people will gradually have a good habit of cycling every day. To conclude, people are too lazy to cycle and prefer more comfortable vehicles are the reason for this trend. However, we can solve the problem by making the price of bicycles inexpensive and give people a chance to take part in competitions regarding riding bicycles.