Cultures around the world have become more similar than they used to be. What are reasons for this? Do you think it is positive or negative?

It seems that each country worldwide always varies in history, people’s lifestyle, and language. Yet in the present day, the variation in cultural features is being narrowed. This essay will discuss the cause of that situation before explaining why its advantages outweigh the drawbacks. One reasonable explanation is the explosion of mass media. Thanks to it, each country’s culture is advertised widely, affecting the development of other nations’ cultural values. For instance, the K-pop culture of Korea, which has spread over Asia through televisions leads to the changes in Asian young generation’s fashion. Another reason is the inevitable integration and globalization process, which encourages countries to adopt an open-door policy and learn from other regions. It, therefore, promotes the adaptation of one another’s culture. Although many people hold that their local is running a risk of losing its distinctive features, I would argue that the similarity in the set of values among countries brings positive impact. Identical customary beliefs, social forms, and material traits enhance mutual understanding within nations, which resulted in a reduction in global wars. Moreover, if they share common in these life aspects, they are likely to put any effort into developing them. For example, Chinese and Vietnamese are joining hands to promote the calligraphic arts by sending Vietnamese learners to China’s calligraphic training school. In conclusion, the differences between national cultures are being eliminated thanks to the mass media and globalization. In my opinion, this trend would reduce the conflicts available among countries, leaving a peaceful environment for cultural development.