The cultures of many coutries around the world become more similar than they used to be. What are the reasons for this trend? Is it positive or negative?

Most of the people have already noticed that medical care has significantly improved over the last decades. As a result of that many people, even if they have long term underlying conditions, live comfortable and longer than generations before. Even though it is impressive, rapid development of the healthcare led to some disadvantages. If you come into any hospital across the country you will definitely see an increased number of elder people medical teams are taking care of. Many elderly individuals have more that one condition or disease, they suffer from, so if they have been admitted to the hospital it is more likely they will stay in longer time. Consequently, most of the hospitals have to reorganise or open additional wards to cover the shortage of beds. Another problem that you can notice is dementia. Even if the person is fit and doing well at the moment, with dementia, they may not be able to look after himself in the future. They may have to live with their children or be taken care in nursing home, which can be very expensive. Elderly people do not like to be a burden, but their family members will feel obligated to take care of them. On the other hand, we can give thanks to scientists and their contribution in our medical care development. After retirement, many elderly people find free time as a blessing, especially if they are fit and healthy enough to fully enjoy their lives. They can enjoy a wide range of activities they could not do because of their work. As well they can spend more time with their beloved and look after the grandchildren, that young parents find quiet beneficial. To sum up, I believe that increased life expectancy is advantageous if we are aiming to keep people as healthy as possible so they can enjoy their old age without relying on others, as nobody wants to live till 100 and be a burden for their relatives and society.