Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. with this statement?

Every country needs an excellent transportation network to provide goods and services to its citizens. Some people argue that the authorities should allocate funds to develop the railway network instead of roads. I can't entirely agree with this notion since both rail and roads should be equally developed to have a better transportation network. Undoubtedly, the train allows travelling a higher number of people compared to other ground transportation methods. In addition to that, it is faster, safer and cheaper than using a private vehicle. Moreover, trains are unlikely to stick in traffic; hence, people who travel on trains can utilise their saved time for something more productive. For instance, in Singapore, the metro network is excellent and works on time. As a result, almost every person is using it for their travel requirements. Speed trains in Europe and Japan are used more often than cars or buses to travel long distances as it is more convenient, cheap and faster. Nevertheless, no one can reach their final destination only by using the railway network. It is a known fact that once you get off from a train either you have to walk or take a taxi to reach the endpoint; hence, the roads are necessary and should connect each endpoint. For example, in Singapore, even though they have an excellent tube network, the streets are built to connect everywhere. Furthermore, for a government to provide emergency services such as fire fighting and ambulance services, there should be a better road network, for the reason that, the trains run on a specific predefined time table. In conclusion, I firmly believe that allocating funds and developing only the railway network is not the solution. The development of road networks should also equally considered to build excellent transportation infrastructure.