Cultures and traditions change from generation to generation. Why does this happen? What can be done to change it?

It is argued that cultures and traditions have been changing with every generation. This is happening because of people moving to nuclear families from joint families and to change this trend the government can conduct seminars or campaigns to educate people about the benefits of living in joint families. The main reason for this trend is that people these days do not want to live in joint families with old people rather they live alone. In other words, grandparents are the ones who can pass the traditional and cultural values to their grandchildren because the current generation might not know what their family beliefs and values are. Therefore, children do not get the opportunity to learn traditions and cultures from their grandparents. For example, according to a study in the year 2016 by the Guardian, there is a 30% increase in people living in nuclear families in India in the last 10 years. The most viable solution to this problem is that the government should arrange campaigns or seminars to highlight the advantages of living in joint families. That is to say that the government can encourage people through public awareness campaigns at workplaces. As a result, grandparents can pass the traditional values of the family to their grandchildren. To cite an example, a similar initiative taken by some states in India such as Punjab and this resulted in a 20 % increase in children who have more knowledge about their traditions and cultures. In conclusion, cultures and traditions are changing with new generations. This is happening because of people living in nuclear families rather than in joint families with their elders and this can be changed through seminars about the merits of living in joint families.