Culture is turning similar around the world. What are the reasons? What are the negative and positive aspects?

Culture is turning similar around the world. What are the reasons? What are the negative and positive aspects? The modern era is characterized by an interconnected world. Since the end of the World Word II, markets became more interdependent, moreover, the development of the Internet boosted up the circulation of the information and the culture which nowadays is becoming more similar everywhere on the planet. Many people believe that this process, called globalization, is positive because ideas such as the freedom of speech can spread around the world; others believe that we are experiencing a serious homologation. In the second half of the 20th century, the concept of global market arose, with the multinational, especially from the United States that opened branches all over the world, spreading standardized habits, culture and status symbols. This process was empathized with the advent of the coming of the Internet, that undoubtedly helped a lot in shaping a " global culture" . With the World Wide Web, in almost every corner of the world, people watch the same movies, read the same books and buy the same products. This global homologation poses a serious problem: all different cultures around the globe may risk disappearing forever under the advance of the new global culture. If one day the new global civilization will replace the countless manifestations of the human' s creativity the world surely will become more boring and less worth to travel around. On the other hand, an advantage of this process of cultural unification is the more easy diffusion of liberal ideas such as the freedom of speech, the freedom of movement and, more generally, the spreading of a culture more respectful of the individual. If the new global culture will be able to embrace this values, then it will become more difficult for any kind of authoritarian regime to suppress these human rights, due to the decentralized nature of the internet.