Cultural Lagtechnological change occurs every rapidly in modern society-sometimes more rapidly than people are prepared for. As a result, when new technology emerges, people may struggle for a time to adapt to it. This period of transition, when people are

The family system remains a vital part of the human social structure. In this present generation, the makeup of families, as well as the roles is changing. The major reasons why these changes are occurring is  because people now take up roles depending on who is better equipped rather than basing the decision on whether one is male or female and also because people are no longer staying heterosexual, as other gender fluid terms have come into play. In my opinion, it is a positive development, as it makes everyone responsible and capable of taking care of themselves. Firstly, the causes of the change in family roles stem from the issue of gender equality. More women see themselves performing functions that are outside of the conventional motherly duties. Furthermore, people decide who gets to do what based on who has the appropriate resources to carry out such task. For example, from personal experience, my mother earned a lot more than my father, hence he stayed at home to take care of us. They felt this was the best decision and had no regrets, as we turned out very responsible. The second reason why family roles are changing is due to the fact that more people are deviating from the heterosexual relationship, where a man marries a woman to other forms of family structures like having two mothers or the two fathers, the entire system changes. In addition, in this generation, the conventional gender based roles have been altered. For instance, a study carried out in Washington DC, in the US, in 2018, revealed that most of the families in the area are more flexible, in the sense that at least 40% of families are made up of same sex parents. Nevertheless, the overall effect of this is in the positive. The switch in the family roles and systems resonates the belief that humans are more than one thing, when it comes to performing tasks. It enables people to be responsible for themselves, no matter their sex. In addition, it also debunks the traditional notion that women are meant to be in the kitchen and should cater to their men and children. It reinforces the ideology that a woman can follow her dreams and be the greatest version of herself. For example, studies have shown that women who work as much as men are more fulfilled in life than those who stay to take care of their families. In conclusion, recently there have been a lot of changes to the family structure and roles. These changes are occurring because of the increasing clamor for gender equality and the acceptance of other forms of relationships, other than the heterosexual ones. In my opinion, these changes are positive as they make humans more accountable for themselves and their decisions.