Crime rates within our society are increasing at a very rapid rate. Give causes and solutions.

The soaring crime rate is often at the top of the agenda throughout the world as the leading problem in the 21st century. This essay will explore how poverty and lack of effective education systems are the major contributing factors of increasing crime, and how through governmental support and reforms in the educational system, this issue Can be curtailed. There are multiple factors that are considered responsible for igniting crimes. Firstly, the poor economic condition of families is deemed as a root cause of this issue. As with the increase in inflation, people are striving hard to make both ends meet which induces pressure on them to earn money by any mean. Take an example of Africa, where the majority of the people, who belong to the poor families, get involved in crimes to feed their dependents. Thus, poverty is the fueling force behind burgeoning crime rates. Secondly, an ineffective education system is considered a breeding ground for augmenting crime rates. As with the present curriculum, youngsters find it hard to differentiate between right and wrong paths. Mentors put stress on students to earn good grades instead of shaping their moral values. For example, the largest jail in Australia has been found to have a higher proportion of school-going youngsters. Hence, the ill-educational system does fuel this issue. However, there are certain pragmatic measures that can be taken to reduce the conviction rate. The government should shoulder the responsibilities of people with limited resources by giving them financial support as this will results in a reduction in crime rate due to poverty. Furthermore, amendments to the educational system would also be a better alternative. Through these changes, curriculum and methods of assessment would be redesigned which will ultimately produce a better society. To sum up, even though poverty and ineffective schooling are a widespread cause of an increase in crime rate, but through higher authorities’ support to the poor families and educational reforms, this problem can be curbed.