Cricket has become more popular than the national sports in many subcontinental countries.

Tips for this Essay Planning and Writing: Reasons why cricket is more popular than national sports in many countries in the subcontinent. Reason 1: Cricket gets much wider media coverage and has international events and championships while many national and traditional sports in the subcontinent have only limited exposure. Reason 2: Less than a quarter of the total population (sometimes even fewer) are interested in their national sports in such countries while almost 80% of them like to watch different cricket tournaments. Reason 3: While the national cricket teams in such countries like India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Australia and West Indies have won the world championships, their teams of national sports have little or no achievements in the international arena. Consequently, people tend to support the winning teams more often than their teams who play national sports. Reason 4: Media attentions that the cricketers in these countries enjoy made them celebrities and starts to the public eyes. And any win in the cricket ground is regarded as huge and celebrated with pomp and show. Reason 5: National and traditional games are played by only a handful number of people in these countries while cricket is widely played by children and adults alike. Reason 6: Cricket, as a sport, was introduced to those nations almost 200 years ago during the English colonial era. In order to keep up with the British, people in these countries started adopting the games and started playing it ever since. Reason 7: Different TV channels in the subcontinent area broadcast cricket competitions all day long while there is scarcely any TV channel that broadcast local and traditional games, unless, of course, there are important tournaments. As a result, people have started enjoying cricket more than their national sports. Reason 8: Star cricketers are paid a huge sum of money while players of local and national sports are paid poorly. It has commercial and political reasons but it is only natural than youngsters would like to take up sports that have better potential. It goes without saying that the popularity of the sport is definitely due to the economic benefit it generates. Reason 9: Citizens of subcontinental countries have a remarkable inclination toward cricket than any other sports. They consider cricket more important than any other sports. Reason 10: Successful sportsmen become idols for people, especially youngsters, which in turn converts them either into fans or prospective players. Subcontinental countries have produced many such legendary cricket players over the years and they still influence people to enjoy cricket. Note: Can you think of any other reason why cricket is more popular than national sports in many subcontinental countries? Please share it with us and our readers by leaving a comment. Thank you in advance.