Cricket has become more popular than the national sports in many subcontinental countries.

Undoubtedly, cricket is the most popular sport in subcontinental countries because there is hardly any part of this region where cricket is not played and relished. Though they have their national sports, cricket has gained far more popularity. Hereby, I will throw some light on some of the possible reasons behind this phenomenon. The predominant reason, why cricket has become so popular among subcontinental nations is that this sport was introduced to them by the British during the colonial period. Most countries in this area became familiar with the rules and regulations of this game and started playing it and then ultimately becoming proficient in it. Moreover, these developing nations have imitated English culture for a long, whether it is a style, language and sport, and importance of English language in these countries is convincing enough evidence of the fact that whatever was introduced by the English in their occupied countries continued to be flourished. Moving further, the national sports like hockey, Kabaddi, Volleyball and so on have limited international tournaments, whereas cricket has various events like ICC Cricket World Cup, IPL, Ashes Series, ICC World Twenty-20 and many more. Therefore, cricket gets a lot more media coverage than any other national games in these countries. As a result, everyone has a special affinity towards cricket and cricketers as well, especially youngsters who have a profound passion for this sport. Teams like India, Pakistan, Australia, South Africa and Sri Lanka have been world champions multiple times while others are emerging powers in cricket. So it is only natural that they have a huge number of fans who enjoy cricket to the fullest. To recapitulate, cricket dominates the sports world, particularly in countries like India, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Australia and South Africa, which have gone through the influence of English culture during the English colonial era and where this sport is considered a part of national pride due to their success and fanbase.