Some people think that studying history is a waste of time while others think it is essential to learn history.

People have different views about the outcomes of learning history and how to use knowledge of history to make the future better. Although some people argue that studying history has nothing to offer, others opine that studying history has a great prospect for discovering our past and using the wisdom to shape our future. This essay investigates both views, but I am personally inclined to the latter opinion. According to a group of people, learning history is a waste of time and vitality. In addition, they believe that learning technology and science can bring significantly more benefits to the humankind and the knowledge could be utilised for future development. History, on the contrary, is difficult to apply in daily life, according to them. For instance, science students can experiment and actually build helpful tools and devices, and this can lead to a magnificent future invention while pupils from history major are imposed to memorize dates and events from the past. But this is not the whole picture according to many others. Learning history not only tells us about past events but also prepares us for the future. We can not expect to avoid a largescale catastrophe if we do not know why it happened in the first place. In the 19th century, for example, Ireland suffered the blight of potatoes, known as the Irish Potato Famine, and it happened because Irish was totally dependent on potatoes. Had they plant another crop, this could have been avoided. However, this unpleasant history has taught us a great lesson - to cultivate a wide diversity of crops. Finally, teaching history in school helps foster patriotism among the youth which is quite important for a bright future generation. In conclusion, people learn important lessons from experience and to build a prosperous nation, we must learn from our history which offers the greatest experience of all. Without knowledge of history, scientific discoveries cannot bring a wide range of advantages.