Many people believe that university students should study a full range of subjects, instead of some specific subjects.

Universities, supreme citadels for building an enlightened generation, play a pivotal role in shaping a country's destiny. Thus the curriculum they follow to teach pupils has a profound impact on its overall outcome. Though some scholars believe that teaching a wide range of subjects at tertiary level is far more beneficial than restraining the syllabus to a few particular subjects, I have reasons to disagree with this view. First of all, universities cannot teach all the subjects to the disciples and the notion of teaching them a great number of subjects is impractical. For instance, an average university has more than 30 departments and they are meant to specialise students in a particular field, not make them the jack of all trades only to produce mediocre professionals. Many public universities are already struggling to finish the course in time and if more subjects are added, that would simply make the scenario worse. Furthermore, a medical student, when forced to study history and poetry, would feel less connected to those subjects, ultimately ending with less specialised knowledge and skill. Similarly, a student from literature would find solving higher calculus a real challenge. The university already has its departments that pick students based on their merits and interests and the course offering should stick to that. Finally, someone does not need to excel in all subjects to do better in his profession. If an engineering student is interested in studying history, he can always do so even the university curriculum does not include it. Many eminent scientists had little knowledge of other subjects and that did not deter them from changing the world forever and this can be a great example how specific subjects in tertiary level can be beneficial than the idea of adding a list of unrelated subjects. To conclude, the areas of studies, especially in this modern era, are myriad and thus adding a spectrum of subjects in every major is not a practical idea.