Many people believe that university students should study a full range of subjects, instead of some specific subjects.

It is often suggested that disciples of tertiary institutions should have a wide range of subjects in their curriculum rather than a few particular subjects. I, however, disagree with this viewpoint primarily for two major reasons. First, universities aim to provide specialized knowledge to their pupils, not enhance their general knowledge. Students are offered admission to universities after they complete many years of academic studies on various subjects. They are in a tertiary institution primarily to gain specific knowledge related to their field of interest. Giving redundant pressure by imposing subjects unrelated to their field can become a hurdle in achieving the required goal sets in their life. For instance, there is little relationship between sociology and mathematics. Mathematics majors will get confused while learning various aspects of sociology and similarly, sociology students will be reluctant to solve complex mathematics. In addition to this, many universities are already striving hard to maintain their recognized status and some are providing only specializations in few subjects. The addition of more subjects in each faculty will add unnecessary weight, and as a result, there will be discordant opinions and actions among them. For example, 'Indian Institute of Technology Delhi' is among the top universities in India and provides specialization in scientific research and technology. If they are forced to add Arts related subjects to their science majors, they will soon find themselves struggling for their excellence. In conclusion, universities are meant for specialization and students should study subjects related to their major or which they feel interested in. The urge to adding a spectrum of irrelevant subjects will detriment the true purpose of university education.