Creative artists like painter and musicians should be financially supported by the government. However, some people disagree with this and say that those artists should support their own financing or should be funded by alternative sources.

From the beginning of the human civilisation, arts and artists have been regarded as one of the most precious assets of the world. However, plummeting artists in a country has raised debate over one of its root cause, which is whether these artists should be funded by government or by some other sources. Both sides of this subject will be analysed before drawing a firm conclusion. On one side of the polarity of the issues, proponents advocate for government funding. To illustrate the benefits of this point they present various advantages. Firstly, government funding would allow prospering those artists who were less endowed. Secondly, nurturing those talents would not only benefit themselves but also help to highlight the country in the world. For example, the Pulitzer award winner Arundhati Roy and the famous painter M. F. Husain are not only the pride of India but also jewels of the world. Additionally, government funding to such motives will inspire the citizens of a country which eventually results to the well-being of a country. On the other side of the polarity of the issue, opponents argue that artists should not be funded by the government as government should spend in solving more trivial issues of the country. To elaborate their points, critics claim that some substitute sources of funding should be invited to bolster talents so that government could focus on serving other underprivileged and at the same time artists could also be supported financially. This could act as a win-win proposition to all. Thus, after contemplating at both perspectives, I believe that alternative source of funding to artists holds merit. Implementing this practice would not only aid artists but also provide a supporting hand to government, which eventually would result in a more prosper and empowered country.