Maintaining safety standard while building homes is very important and some people believe that government should be responsible for enforcing the strict building codes while many others opine that house owners and the people who are working there should be responsible for that. In your opinion who should be responsible for enforcing strict building codes.

Housing is perhaps fastest growing industry in the world. The frantic growth in the housing industry has resulted in many shortcuts employed by builders. Some argue that governments should put in measures to define mechanisms to control quality. While other like to put the onus on the builders themselves. This essay would look into both aspects and conclude by suggesting an idea of fixing the responsibility. History has shown that opportunity of making money plus extreme competition result in cutting corners in quality in every industry. Same has happened in the housing sector as well. There have been many instances all around the world where poor building quality has led many deaths. A study by Mumbai University reveals that there are on an average 100 deaths every year in Mumbai alone because of poor construction quality. Therefore, builders cannot be trusted with all the faith people have on them. The government should define code for building residences and the minimum acceptable quality. Every project should be scrutinised and evaluated at every stage starting from design to fitting electrical wiring. Approval of construction should be withheld if any inferiority is found at any stage. By following this method United States government was able to improve housing by a great deal in the 1960s. Now one would find rare accidents at construction sites or after building are handed over to owners. With above points, it can be concluded that government has a major role to play in enforcing construction rules. Rules should be made to fix responsibility on builders for any lapse.