Countries should start using nuclear power as their main source of energy; fossil fuels (i. e. coal, oil and gas) are not going to last forever and nuclear power is the cheapest alternative.

At present many governments all over the world are putting forward a proposal for the new alternative source of energy production. The new solution for the energy generation consists of the replacement of the traditional energy production with nuclear power. Those that support the nuclear power introduction believe that as a more environmentally beneficial solution, it can cope with the pollution problems, while the opponents argue that there are numerous drawbacks that come with the new energy production. I am very doubtful whether the advantages are truly beneficial and I am of the opinion that drawbacks overweight the benefits. There are several reasons for the use of nuclear power. Firstly, due to its ability to emit far fewer greenhouse gases during the energy generation, it makes the nuclear power plants far more environmentally friendly and positive for the whole society. Also, some are of the opinion that the nuclear power plants have a much larger power-generating capacity which enables the production for bigger industrial areas, such as big cities and regions. However, this new energy progress surely brings much more drawbacks. First of all, because of its size as an infrastructural project, it brings a problem of high cost. Moreover, for the construction of such a large energy plants, subsidies are needed for the projecting and operation, as well as loan guarantees. Furthermore, there are great deals of high known risks that cannot be forgotten. For example, physical injuries, deaths and most importantly the high level of radiation produced from the nuclear waste and maintenance materials. Also, the research shows that the nuclear waste lasts from 200 to 500 thousand years, which negates the fact that is the pro-environmental solution. In conclusion, even if the nuclear power plants provide a vast of financial and energetic advantages, I truly believe that there are still a great deal of dangerous and contentious issues that come with it.