Some organizations impose the rule of wearing a uniform in the workplace. Do you think that employees in certain organizations should wear a uniform? What is your viewpoint on this issue?

Many companies and organizations are making uniform necessary for their employees. Having a separate uniform for office is actually a good thing but there can be some disadvantages to that. Firstly, when a separate outfit is designed for an organization, it creates uniformity among their staffs. It becomes impossible to even predict who earns how much and who is at a higher post. Secondly, the employees are benefited by the fact that they do not have to worry about what to wear for office every morning. People often feel uncomfortable if they have to repeat same clothes every week. All the staffs of an office do not have a high earning. Those who can earn more can buy many clothes and change them daily whereas, those who do not earn more have to repeat the same number of clothes every week. This often makes low earners feel inferior to high earners. This may even disturb the working environment in the office as the employees seem to be uncomfortable with each other. Some low earning people even tend to buy clothes, sometimes, even more than they are supposed to, just to fit in with high earning staffs which could result in a bad economic state to some people. Thus, having an office uniform solves all such problems. People not only have to worry about buying new clothes and fitting in with the richer ones but also, can save their money for future rather than, wasting it in buying new outfits. However, there are some disadvantages too. As office uniform is specific, it is easier for anyone to identify where a particular person works. In addition, sometimes, people may have to go to a certain event after office. In that case, they cannot simply go to the event in their office uniform and they cannot even wear a different clothing item other than their uniform. Hence, they need to go home and get dressed for the event which consumes time. This will not be the case if there is not an office uniform. Employees can get dressed according to the event that they will be attending while going to their office and after office hours is complete they can straightly go the event that they are supposed to. To conclude, I believe office uniform is necessary for any office or organizations to bring uniformity among their staffs, however, they should be allowed to wear other casual attire if they will be attending other events after office.