Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is unquestionable that many countries are facing the globalization which all nations are becoming more similar in term of their product and service. This trend was perceived by most people as a positive trend while I think that it causes more negative consequence of local business and young generation. To begin with, advanced technology creates opportunity for businesses to easily produce and sell their products and services across different continents with less obstacle. Although there are some benefits in term of business expansion for multinational corporations, many local businesses are suffering from this globalization. For example, Japan, one of the most popular tourist destinations, used to generate revenue of more than 300 billion dollars per year from selling their product or service to foreigners during 2007 to 2012. However, in 2015, the entering of international large companies creates negative impact to the main source of income for local people by reducing the income of more than 30% of its past figure. Another important issue that need to be considered is the negative influence and culture that brought by multinational companies. For instance, Franchise restaurants such as McDonald and KFC cause the trend of consuming unhealthy food for youngsters. Since the first emerge of fast food chains in China, the research from Warwick university revealed that young people experienced 25% more risk of being obesity and cardiovascular disease. This negative trend of consuming unhealthy food causes the health risk to young generation in many countries. In conclusion, even though the globalization would have some merits that favour international companies to do business with less barrier, it also made local people to be more suffering from business risk and the young generation are experiencing more health risk than they used to.