Advertising has become an unavoidable part of everyone’s lives. Some people say that advertising is a positive part of our lives while other say it is a negative one.

These days, we all are surrounded by electronic devices and thus we are subjected to advertisements. These ads are designed logically to target specific audiences and these have severe effects on our mental health and alters our psychology unknowingly. In this essay, I will examine the effects of advertisements on human kind. On one hand, relevant ads are helpful as they show the product which is required. It is often the case that we try to purchase stuff online, but we are unable to find the right item and eventually we don't buy, while google monitors our search and shows us relevant ads which sometimes shows the product we needed. For example, I was looking for a hot wheel toy for my nephew but it was difficult to find the one he needed, suddenly a poster shows up and that's what exactly I wanted. Moreover, it provided me the way to get discounts on the same product. On the other hand, advertisements are misleading and forces us to buy a specific merchandise. In other words, we tend to buy items which are not essential and are just luxury brand, these are often highly priced. The constant advertisement makes us irritated, some ads don't have any relevance to our needs, they are just there because the people paid money to show the advertisement. For instance, in my browser, I was shown sports advertisements which have no connection with me at all. Further, same ad was repeated multiple times on my laptop which made me feel exhausted and unhappy. In conclusion, advertisement is one of the main sources of income for digital platforms. So, they have no other way but to adapt to the industry. Advertisement lure people to buy unnecessary items and on the contrary, it helps to find the right item. Advertisement have both demerits and merits, but I think it's disadvantage outweigh it's advantage.