Counties with long working days are more successful economically, but there are some negative social consequences.

Some people believe that spending a lot of time at work leads to an increase in productivity, which translates into a greater economic output. However, I believe that there are disadvantages to having such a culture as too much work can lead to an unbalanced and an unhealthy lifestyle. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of working long hours. Firstly, studies have shown that people do not have very long energy spans. Although working longer hours might lead to an increase in the volume of work done, the time spent cannot guarantee that an employee is actually being productive as staff might be too tired after the official working hours are up. Companies end up paying their staff overtime wages for work that was not generated, thereby defeating the original purpose of working long hours. Secondly, it is unhealthy both physically and mentally to be working for too long. Our mind requires relaxation in order to recover and recharge. In addition, too much work in the office without enough outdoor activities is a sedentary lifestyle. While we may not feel anything wrong when we are young, our bodies will suffer the consequences when everything culminates in old age. On the other hand, companies that have business dealings with businessmen living on the other side of the world might find it advantageous to have longer working hours as their working hours could overlap with their overseas counterpart. Transactions and decisions can be made sooner and people need not wait that long to move forward with their task by having an extended schedule at work. In conclusion, I believe that the government and organizations should take care of their employees and not overwork them by implementing legislations for work-life balance. After all, our life does not merely consist of work.