Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful than those countries which do not have a long working time.

Some individuals contend that a prolonged average working hours of citizens could allow the state to have better economic development compared with nations which have shorter office hours. I completely agree with this argument. To begin with, longer office hours can be beneficial to the cities. Citizenry staying in workplace for longer time will have a higher salaries. Many companies pay workers according to their working time so those who work for longer or even stay overnight in the office can earn more. For example, nurses in US can have triple the hourly wage rate than original if they work for extra hours. Higher salaries of city dwellers implies that they have more savings, spending more on consumer goods like food, electronic gadgets, clothing. Thus, the expenditure of citizens will go to the companies so it will reinvest their income into the society. Consequently, the state will have more thriving economic growth due to the huge consumer spending. In addition, longer working hours can train citizen’s durability and this can motivate them to be more hard working. For example, Hong Kong is one of the city with longest working hours in the world, rated as one of the most competitive city in world. People who live in Hong Kong already get used to long working hours and overtime working is so common in there. Therefore, they treat 10 hours working as normal situation so civilians there are so hard working. Working overnight is even a culture in some of the financial industries in Hong Kong such as investment banking and audit. It is the endurable personality of residents trained through a decade that makes Hong kong a international financial center, being one of the most economically developed place. In conclusion, there are many advantages in terms of economic boosting for citizenry to stay longer in the workplace so I totally agree that lengthy working hours can make a state more economically competitive.