Corporal punishment is the best form of discipline.

Some people believe that smacking or spanking is the most effective disciplinary technique for behavior management with children. I completely disagree with this view. One the one hand, the use of force is barbaric and there are many other forms of discipline should instead be used to teach good behavior. In fact, a range of alternatives such as verbal correction, grounding, withholding of pocket-money is justified to be practical and helpful in behavior management. For instance, the principle of grounding which bans children from getting out of the place of residence for pleasure will effectively prevent them from behaving badly afterward because the fear of not being able to play with friends is bigger than that of being smacked or spanked. On the other hand, parental use of physical punishment suggests that violence can be acceptable. This may lead to children’s criminal offenses in their future because they believe that violence is an effective weapon to make other people act as their will and unflinchingly inflict force on them until the victims show signs of obedience. In fact, there is a link between criminals, bullies or behavior disorders and being beaten by their parents as part of their upbringing. As a result, corporal punishment would be counter-productive and only convey the harmful message of the use of violence to achieve someone’s aim. In conclusion, physical chastisement is not an effective form of child education and even counterproductive. There are many discipline technique available and should be used according to the degree of the child’s disobedience.