computer technology has had more of a negative than a positive impact on society. How far

Several studies worldwide has linked job satisfaction with overall well being of a person, since he spends two third of his life working. Multiple factors are associated with job fulfilment and the expectation for same merely meets for the majority of workers. This essay will discuss contributing elements to occupational satisfaction and explain why it is an unreal supposition. There are various work related facets that contribute to job contentment. To begin with, one crucial factor is whether the field is an ones' choice of career or not. Unfortunately, in todays competitive and materialistic world, people choose a profession that pays attractive some of salaries rather than following their interests. Another important aspect is work environment. This means co-operative boss, helpful colleagues, appropriate and adequate appraisals and incentives at work. At present, however, this is not the scenario in most of the occupation, consequently there is a rise in frustration towards job leading to psychological distress with physical symptoms like migraines, hypertension, depression, obesity to name but a few. A recent study conducted among 1500 employees of one multinational company in India found high levels of stress associated with low job satisfaction. Thus, multiple factors are essential for job satisfaction and it is a prominent element of individual wellbeing. Sadly, as important is job satisfaction for employee's well being, the expectancy for it is merely met. This is to say, flexible and co-operative work environment exist in rare occasions only. What is more, favouritism, discrimination still present in most of the work settings which deprive deserving candidates for promotion or appraisal. A survey report published in economic forum in New York in 2015 stated that 63% of corporate workers agreed promotions were made on the basis of preference rather than to a qualified candidate. Therefore, it will be true to say, the majority of workers do not find satisfaction in the work as expected. In conclusion, several factors lead to professional contentedness, thus its likelihood for all workers is barely real. If employers need quality of service then they should work on the above mentioned factors to improve job contentment among employees.