Computer are now the basis of modern world. They should be therefore be introduced into classrooms and their programs used for direct teaching purposes.

Over the past few years, the world has seen a considerable increase in the number of schools applying computer programs for direct teaching purposes. In my opinion, I tend towards the viewpoint that the downsides of this tendency outweigh the potential benefits. On the one hand, there are two main reasons why the usage of computer programs as a teaching method has a beneficial effect. First of all, during the process of learning with computer assistance, students would be possibly able to have a good grasp of computer skills. Indeed, in the digital age, computer literacy is likely to become an indispensable requirement which almost every recruiter seeks in a résumé. Secondly, this way of teaching ensures that students will learn from accurate and reliable knowledge. There are several teachers prone to provide their students the information based on their opinions or even prejudices, which can lead students to lack of comprehensive knowledge. Thus, it can be argued that students may benefit from this type of teaching method. On the other hand, it is perhaps even more important to take the drawbacks into account. To begin with, regularly face-to-face contact between teachers and students in a classroom may be eliminated as students spending more time on computer screen. In fact, most of students find their interest in study thanks to supportive and enthusiastic teachers. On top of that, due to the discrepancy of learning ability among students, it seems to be unfeasible to improve pupils’ academic results if they are all learning at the same level. All in all, computers are by no means able to replace teachers in terms of understanding students’ ability to learn as well as promoting their learning spirit. In conclusion, it is my personal belief that the potential dangers of using computer programs for direct teaching purposes are more significant than the possible advantages.