Completing university is thought by some to be the best way to get a job. On the other hand, other people think that getting experience and developing soft skills is more important.

It is considered by some that being a university graduate is a key to securing a good job, whilst there are others who think that it is better to have experience and soft skills. In my opinion, I believe that having university education is essential for academic jobs, while soft skills and experience are more useful in business. First of all, many think it is easier for people to find a good career if they are university graduates with a good degree. In other words, having a tertiary education puts people one step ahead of others who do not and this can be a deciding factor in getting a good job. The fierce competition to enrol in a university and the increasing number of graduates show just how significant this level of education is for people's future work opportunities. On the other hand, having work training and soft skills, such as leadership and other interpersonal skills, can also throw the balance in favour of the applicant, according to some. For many positions there are an overwhelming number of applicants and, therefor, it is often thought that having relevant experience in that line of industry or having acquired useful soft skills that can be valuable to a company, can put one ahead of the game when applying for a position. Finally, in my opinion, whether needing high level of schooling or skills and experience, depends on the post being applied for. Take for example law, medicine or teaching, it is impossible to be considered for a position without the required educational background. In contrast, for business, it would be more important for a candidate to have soft skills and involvement in the line of business so that they can step into a position without further training and be of immediate benefit to the company. All things considered, getting a good career requires a relevant background either in training or education depending on the type of work and field. People should make sure they attain the necessary skills or degrees before applying for a job in order to be sure of success.