Completing university education is thought by some to be the best way to get a good job. On the other hand, other people think that getting experience and developing skill is more important. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In a highly competitive job market these days, obtaining a college degree seems to be conspicuous. However, I do not think that finishing a higher education automatically equate to success in the professional world. Every job description requires its applicants to hold a certain education requirement. First of all, by pursuing an advanced credential, future employees will learn the basic skills that are compulsory in the job description. Moreover, successfully obtaining their degrees means that these job seekers’ knowledge and capabilities are guaranteed and therefore more valuable to employers. For instance, NASA only hires its engineers who have completed bachelor degrees—or even higher—as this ensures that the people they hired are exceptional at their fields. The same goes for other professions along the lines of medical doctors and scientists. On the other hand, there are alternatives to formal university education that could better prepare people for specialized careers. These options, such as vocational schools, online courses, tutorials, and intensive boot camps, offer more affordable solutions than studying for four-year degrees. Furthermore, some companies are impartial to their personnel’s educational backgrounds. These companies prioritize their candidates’ years of experience as this means less budget has to be spent on employee training. Finally, it is beyond doubt that years of experience and having the right attitudes will benefit someone over any degree they possess. Take a look at the founder of Walt Disney Company, Walt Disney. He did not even finish high school, yet owing to his extensive experiences as an illustrator along with his discipline and strong work ethic, he managed to establish a small animation studio into a media conglomerate that continues to prosper even until today. To conclude, I believe that if the occupation’s skills can be studied without advanced education, an adept employer may highly value a job candidate’s traits that are acquired through untraditional methods, specifically informal training or personal experiences.