Many developing countries are currently expanding their tourist industries. Why is this the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

Investing in tourism sectors is becoming increasingly popular amongst developing nations. Reasons for this vary. In my opinion, this trend brings to us both benefits and drawbacks. There have several reasons why tourist industries are expanded nowadays. First, tourism sectors do not require much money and high-quality labours as others normally do. Computer science or health care, for example, they cost a great deal of money for building educational institutions with top-notch facilities and prestigious professors. Meanwhile, governments can just establish vocational training so as to provide tourism fields with manpower who are able to work in 5-stars hotels or travel agencies. Secondly, this kind of sector is considered to be a green one. Because the carbon footprint accounted for this industry is not as much as others like chemical or mining. The tendency of expanding tourism industries can benefit developing nations in some ways. The first benefit is that it can create more job opportunities for local residents. If there are more resorts and restaurants build in their homeland, they will certainly find a suitable work instead of migrating to big cities. Additionally, developments in tourism also boost the mutual understanding among countries. The more travellers come to one country, the more cultural values will be exchanged. However, there are some drawbacks. One negative consequence would be that it might probably harm to the local environment. As many people litter plastic bags and leftover foods into surrounding areas, the lands can be filled with a huge amount of garbage and some species may suffer from the loss of their habitat. The development of travel industry is caused by some factors, and I believe that this movement can lead to both positive and negative outcomes.