Completing university education is thought by some to be the best way to get a good job. On the other hand, other people think that getting experience and developing soft skills is more important. v. 104

It is considered by some people that being a university graduate is the key to securing a good job, while others think that it is better to have experience and soft skills. In my opinion, having a university education is essential for academic jobs while soft skills and experience are more useful in business. On the one hand, many think it is easier for most people to find a good job if they are university graduates with a good degree. In other words, having a tertiary education puts people one step ahead of others who do not, and this can be the deciding factor in getting a good job. The competition to enrol in universities and the increasing number of graduates show just how significant this level of education is for future work opportunities. On the other hand, having work experience and soft skills such as leadership and interpersonal skills can also throw the balance in favour of the applicants who have them. For many positions, there is an overwhelming number of applicants and therefore it is often thought that having relevant experience in that line of work or having acquired useful soft skills that can be valuable to a company, can put one ahead of the game when applying for a position. Finally, in my opinion, whether needing high-level education or skills and experience, depends on the position being applied for. Take for example law, medicine or teaching, it is impossible to be considered for a position without the required educational background. In contrast, in business, it would be more important for a candidate to have soft skills and experience in that line of business so they can step into a position without further training and be of immediate benefit to the company. In conclusion, getting a good job requires a relevant background, either through experience or education depending on the type of work and field. People should make sure they attain the necessary skills or degrees before applying for a job to be sure of success.