Completing university education is thought by some to be the best way to get a good job. On the other hand, other people think that getting experience and developing soft skills is more important.

There is a debate about the best strategy to land a desirable job. Some argue that getting a tertiary qualification is the surest path to get hired while others claim that acquiring experience and interpersonal skills is better. I concur with the latter point of view due to following reason. To begin with, proponents contend that completing tertiary education is the most appropriate approach to get hired. An academic qualification provides a golden opportunity for students in order to broaden their knowledge about their field of study, which is essential for their prospective careers. Nevertheless, I think there are mismatches between what students will experience at work and what they have learned theoretically at academic sites. Hence, they can rarely apply their knowledge at their job. Alongside proponent’s belief, opponents claim that focusing on developing soft skills is an effective way to find a suitable job. Problem solving and communication skill can be named, but a few. Applicants who have have problem solving skill rarely give up when they confront with challenges, and they continue to work until they address all aspects of the problem. As a result, employers tend to employ them as problems are inevitable during the work. Besides, communication skill plays crucial role in finding an appropriate career. Take an international company as an example. Such a company needs to introduce their products to other companies on the other side of the world. Therefore, employees who can communicate well are the top of the pecking order as they can persuade other companies to purchase their product. In conclusion, although some people believe that quantifiable skills are the most crucial factor to find an appropriate job, I think it would be better for students to improve their social skills.