Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

It is generally assumed that it is the parent's responsibility to bring-up their children with all positive aspects and a few others claim, it's the duty of the academic institutes. I believe, home is the first school for the toddler and parents need to develop good social behaviour in them. Educational institutions play a significant role in the development of the youngster by promoting discipline, which is the foundation for any good social habits to persist. Besides as parents, they are more emotionally involved with their children, therefore, it gets harder to inculcate discipline among them. In this respect, schools can play a major role, by bringing in regular order and routine. Furthermore, learning centres can impart few significant social values such as sharing, for example, these days, most of the families are either with a single kid or two, and are unable to make them learn the quality of sharing, which is essential to grow in the society. Being selfish and greedy leads to isolation or peer boycott by other kids. Another most important aspect of growth, which only schools can impart is to learn to accept failure, which usually parents are unable to teach their kids, they either start lecturing or much worse, criticising, instead of explaining that failure is the stepping stone for success. Therefore, educational centres are the best places to experience it first hand and learn from it. Although, schools play a prominent role in a child's life, I believe, parents play equally if not a more important part by teaching their kids moral values, such as being truthful, and this can be imparted by themselves, if they remain truthful at all times. As children learn what they see and imitate their family members in their social interactions with others. In my opinion, the value of time needs to be developed from a very early age, as it is crucial to achieve anything in life. Additionally, organizational skills also can be taught by parents in getting their kids to make their beds, keep their surroundings in an orderly fashion, also to have their books and stationary organized. This ability if learnt earlier will help them in the future in a big way. To conclude, although, the school emphasizes and promotes certain aspects of life, parents play a greater role in the personality development of their children by teaching moral, family, social values, which are the foundation of a good society.