Completing university education is thought by some to be the best way to get a good job. On the other hand, other people think that getting experience and developing soft skills is more important. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is often argued that university graduate is necessary for a better career, while, others believe that real-world experience and practical skills are more vital. This essay agrees that life experience and essential skills are crucial for better job opportunities. This essay will firstly, discuss how real-life experiences and essential skills are crucial in workplace and secondly, explain the importance of tertiary education for better job. On the one hand, it is clear that the people with work experience, good personality and interpersonal skills will have better opportunities. The reason being, an employee with good numbers of on-job experience and rich emotional intelligence such as empathy and interpersonal skills can perform better in workplace because they need not have to provide training for particular job by spending huge amount of money. For instance, last year, in one of the private hospitals in Bhutan selected four experienced doctors through open interview from total ten applicants for their hospital. Therefore, experience in relevant field with public relations skills are the leading factor for better employment. On the other hand, some think that university education is required for good and rewarding career. That is to say, it is the third-level education and graduates are treated by the society as one step ahead of others because they were taught various major subjects which are useful for their career. For example, Computer Science students under the Royal University of Bhutan were taught programming languages to develop systems which are useful for high-tech companies. Despite this, relevant work experiences with good interpersonal skills are the priority for employers to select best employee. In conclusion, tertiary education plays an important role in shaping the career of the students; however, this essay agrees that essential human skills and experience is the key for better profession.