Completing university education is thought by some as the best way to get a good job. On the other hand, other people think that getting experience and developing soft skills is more important.

Securing a good job is almost every person’s dream and there are several avenues one may follow in order to achieve that aspiration. Some believe that acquiring a university degree is the most definite way of getting a good job, whilst others believe that gaining relevant experience and soft skills increases one’s chances of getting hired on a good job. My opinion is that a degree is very essential for the purpose of securing the job, but in order for someone to thrive in the business world, one would need to develop more soft skills and acquire relevant experience. Graduating from a tertiary institution such as a university proves an individual’s capabilities in several aspects. It is an indication that a person can work under pressure, has the ability to learn and is intellectually capable. Most organizations use a university degree as a yardstick to measure one’s capabilities. I believe that for the purpose of passing through the recruitment stage, a tertiary qualification is quite necessary and hence people should try to acquire one if resources permit. On the other hand, the pace at which business processes are changing on a day to day basis presents an enormous challenge to fresh graduates. In most cases, what students are taught at college is outdated and may not apply in a real business environment. After passing the first hurdle or getting a job, I believe that college graduates would need to work extremely hard in order to acquire the necessary knowledge and soft skills in order for them to thrive and become established in the business world. In conclusion, both a graduate degree and work experience are essential for a successful business career. A graduate degree presents a better opportunity for someone to get hired for a good job, whilst work experience and soft skills are all very key for someone to perform and grow in the business world.