Working for non profit organizations such as donations and free teaching should be encouraged among high school children. While some people support this idea, some are strongly against it. What are you in favor of?

In a world where time is money and money is life, nonprofit organizations make a huge impact in the life of the poor and under-privileged. I strongly believe that working for nonprofit organizations, may it be in the form of donations, teaching or any other activity for that matter, should be encouraged amongst high school students. While are many individuals who do not support this idea, this essay evaluates both the viewpoints. One on hand, there is one group of people supporting free utilities provided to the ones not wealthy, and on the other hand, there are many who think that providing for free to the poverty-stricken shall encourage them to utilise these services without putting in hard work or efforts. They believe that survival comes with a price to pay. You are therefore expected to provide a minimal amount for the benefits you get. For example, if there is an individual providing low fee teaching at an academy, not only does he have the satisfaction of helping the poor, but the poor child also learns willingly because a quota of his meagre income goes into educating himself. This also adds a good experience to the life of the teacher. Especially if one is coming from a middle class family, where he or she does not have excess wealth, a balance between the fee charged would keep both happy. On the other hand, there are people who believe in the proverb service to man is service to God. These are the persons who choose to inculcate the values of humanity and empathy without expecting any returns. They strongly believe that it is in the years of teenage that a pupil observes and learns the art of giving to the society. For instance, if a gentleman on the road whom you don’t know asks you the way to a place that is at a two minute walking distance, there is one individual who would direct the man verbally and then there is the other who would walk him to the destination. The latter, definitely has a higher sense of satisfaction. Thereby, even an act of selflessness, is in reality selfish, because it gives you innate happiness. Having placed two contradictory views, I would like to conclude by stating that I believe that a kind act, without expecting returns (in this case, money) would definitely go a long way in helping the not wealthy. Therefore, these values should be imbibed in a person right through middle school and high school. May it be in the form of donations, free teachings or free service in any form.