Nowadays more and more business meetings and business training are taking place online. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In today’s era of technological advancements, business meetings and conferences are mostly executing online rather than traditional face-to-face discussions. This essay will argue that the benefits of meeting via online platforms offset the drawbacks. There is a plethora of reasons why working online can have tremendous positive outcomes for the company. First and foremost, calling a meeting or discussing online, using software ranging from Skype to Meeting Pro, enables people to save adequate time and to work with more comfort. For instance, in the past, to take part in a meeting, some participants have to travel from a long distance to meet others, but in the present, with the help of the internet and social network, everyone can have online discussions and conferences from everywhere. Second, training online not only help individuals to save time but also save money. Furthermore, it should be noted that some large companies organize a training session, in which trainers have to spend a budget on either living or ticket airlines, especially the international corporation. Hence, overall business efficiency will be improved by saving time and expenditure of the organization. Despite these positive factors, this trend has a few disadvantages. The merits and demerits of online meetings primarily depend upon the nature of the professions. In some business interactions, there is a requirement of business tools, like brainstorming, joint analysis, mutual decisions, which may not be as efficient as it can be possible in physical meet up. For example, in the field of medicine and dentistry, physical presence is the core requirement, i. e. a patient’s disease cannot be diagnosed via online talk. Therefore, it will not work effectively in some occupations, especially in the medical field. In conclusion, the trend seen in the companies switching their training activities and business discussions to online mode has many advantages, including saving time and cost as compared to the drawbacks. This not only benefits the companies, but also enhancing the efficacy of the employees.