Communication through text messaging and other instant forms of online communication are short and basic. Some people think this will be the death of grammar and spelling.

Nowadays, it has become very common for people to interact with each other by short text messages or by chatting live on computers. Some people claim this will eventually cause death of grammar and spelling. I completely agree with this statement because short messages are being used universally and frequently on everyday basis. Therefore, this wrong interpretation may replace the normal spellings and grammar gradually. Firstly, the usage of this grammatically incorrect short message is not confined to a particular place. People all over the world are comfortable in using these abbreviated messages while online chats or texting. In addition, this problem is not restricted to one language many local languages are also getting affected. There are many words in English, for example love, you, good morning and good night are always used in short forms which are not the standard abbreviations. Hence, when a large population starts using such wrong vocabulary subsequently the actual spelling or grammar will become extinct. Secondly, people use these grammatically wrong messages in routine communication. When a wrong word is used persistently on a daily basis, there is every chance that people will forget the original spelling. Although, these short messages are grammatically incorrect with wrong abbreviations they convey the correct meaning to the opposite person. Therefore, it has become convenient for everyone to use them quite often. Moreover, people who do not have basic knowledge about English language can send brief messages in English via social media so they are bound to learn wrong spellings. For instance, many native English speakers fail in formal examinations of the English language. In conclusion, people all over the world are obsessed with short text messages and they often use them in routine communication. Therefore, it may ultimately result in the demise of spelling and grammar.