Cinema attendance in some countries is on the decline. What do you think are the causes of this development and what measures could be taken to solve it?

The creation of cinema has led it to become one of the major entertainment activities during the 20th century across the globe. However, the current trend indicates that the numbers of people watching films in cinemas have reduced in several nations. This essay will illustrate the causes of this change and will suggest some possible solutions. It is apparent that work pressure is increasing day by day due to the competitive nature of employees. As people spend more time at their jobs, they have less time for entertainment. For instance, in Asian countries such as India and Singapore, employees work around 10 hours a day as mandated by their employers. In addition to that, they spend 1 to 2 hours on average commuting daily. They hardly get spare time to enjoy watching movies. Thus it is obvious that in some societies, people do not get enough opportunity to enjoy movies. This can be solved by restricting work to a maximum of 8 hours a day. Both the government and the employers should come up with a policy that ensures that the workforce is never exploited. Another important reason why some citizens lack interest in going to cinemas is due to the movies focus on unimportant issues. For example, currently, most South Asian movies just gravitate towards making revenue and give less importance to storylines or themes. After watching a film, there is nothing worth studying or accepting from it. By analysing how the film industry concentrates on the wrong aspects of movie making, it is clear why youths are definitely distancing themselves from movies and switching to playing video games in some nations. One way to get rid of this problem is to improve on the aspects which people enjoy, such as storylines or themes. As audience interests differ from region to region, it is up to the regional film industry to identify the demand of their area. As a conclusion, it is apparent that if some measures are taken by governments and industries, cinema attendance can definitely be increased. As a result, the industry can use this as a means of creating social awareness by incorporating important themes in the movies.